Friday, March 28, 2014

Observer-area All District Basketball teams

All-District Basketball Teams


Girls First Team:
Stephanie Watts, Weddington; Emry Tsitouris, Parkwood; Aliyah Mazyck, Myers Park; Asha Jordan, Monroe; Rydeiah Rogers, Myers Park

Girls Second Team: Ezinne Mbamalu, Lake Norman Charter; Sophie Rossitch, Charlotte Catholic; Rachel Porter, West Charlotte; Julia Brown, Hough; Zaria Wright, Mallard Creek

Girls Third Team: Destiny Barrino, North Meck; Kelsi Mahoney, Robinson; Erin Whalen, Ardrey Kell; Tonjai Everett, Forest Hills; Taylor Helms, Cuthbertson

Girls player of the year:
Stephanie Watts, Weddington

Girls coach of the year: Barb Nelson, Myers Park

Boys First Team: Luke Maye, Hough; CJ Jackson, Olympic; Steven Santa Ana, Ardrey Kell; Torin Dorn, Vance; CJ Bryce, North Meck

Boys Second Team: John Emezie, Marvin Ridge; Connor Burchfield, Concord; Matt Morgan, Cox Mill; Brandon Watts, Weddington; Terrance Durham, Mallard Creek

Boys Third Team: Devin Cooper, Ardrey Kell; Cameron Tripp, Piedmont; Zaqwuan Matthews, Myers Park; Malik Constantine, Olympic; Taj Middleton, North Meck

Boys player of the year: Luke Maye, Hough

Boys coach of the year: Mike Craft, Ardrey Kell


Girls First Team:
Rachel Camp, East Rutherford; Adiyah Ussery, Crest; Madi Story, Bandys; Danasia Witherspoon, Hickory; Ace Easter, Bandys

Girls Second Team: Lauren Arney, East Burke; Ariyana Williams, Freedom; Abby Robinson, Draughn; Te’ja Twitty, R-S Central; Sydney Haas, East Burke

Girls Third Team:
Ansley Rooks, Patton; Yezman Hannah, Hickory; Monique Petty, Kings Mountain; Tia Bristol, R-S Central; Krissy Surratt, Freedom

Player of the year: Rachel Camp, East Rutherford

Coach of the year: Amber Fox, Freedom

Boys First Team: Gabe DeVoe, Shelby; Devonte Fuller, Hickory; Devonte Boykins, East Rutherford; James Tillman, Kings Mountain; Kerrion Moore, Hunter Huss

Boys Second Team:
Travis Waldroup-Rodriguez, East Rutherford; Chazz Surratt, East Lincoln; DJ Cunningham, Cherryville; Tyoun Shuford, Newton-Conover; Jeron Hemphill, Freedom

Boys Third Team:
Jalen Connor, Newton-Conover; Isaiah Whaley, Ashbrook; Sage Surratt, East Lincoln; Elijah Gore, East Gaston; Mon’Darius Black, Shelby

Boys Player of the year:
Gabe Devoe, Shelby

Boys Coach of the year: Casey Rogers, Freedom


Girls First Team:
Malaya Johnson, N. Surry; Madi Suddreth, Alexander Central; Avery Locklear, South Rowan; Karleigh White, East Rowan; Cassidy Joyner, Surry Central

Girls Second Team: Marie Ritchie, Alexander Central; Allie Church, N. Wilkes; Gabrielle Jessup, East Surry; Kelli Fisher, East Rowan; Kelli Mounce, South Stokes

Girls Third Team: Cassidy Chipman, South Rowan; Elizabeth Webb, West Iredell; Alex Allen, Carson; Alex Atkins,Mt Airy; Alley Shumate, North Wilkes

Player of the year: Malaya Johnson, North Surry

Coach of the year: Brad Mangum, Alexander Central

Boys First Team: Michael Connor, North Rowan; Kishawn Pritchett, Lake Norman; Colton Laws, Carson; Zach Wilmoth, Surry Central; Hunter Seacat, Lake Norman

Boys Second Team: Fabian Santos, Alleghany; Brantley Chambers, North Iredell; Peyton Sell, Davie County; Grayson Cobb, West Stokes; Tre Williams, Carson

Boys Third Team:
Isaiah Osborne, Wilkes Central; Michael Bowman, North Rowan; Celexus Long, West Rowan; Cameron Baker, Watauga; David Scott, Lake Norman; Austin Sprinkle, Alleghany

Player of the year: Michael Connor, North Rowan

Coach of the year:
Brandon Jolly, Lake Norman

Note: Albemarle’s Kyleigh McLendon made the District 8 girls team, comprised of players mainly outside the Observer’s coverage area. Albemarle’s Akela Branch was District 8 player of the year and Albemarle girls coach Eric Davis was coach of the year....North Stanly’s Stephen Misenheimer and Anthony Atkins made the District 8 boys team


Anonymous said...

Langston-when are you going to publish the final sweet 16 for men's and women's basketball for the 2013-14 season? There hasn't been a new basketball sweet 16 for over two months now, has it been discontinued?

Tharin Meggett said...

Mr. Hughes, how was it decided that Coach Craft won the Coach of the year honors over Coach Maurice Jones of Berry Academy? Coach Jones goes 25-4, 13-1 in the conference,conference champ and tournament champ. Not one Berry player made the 1st, 2nd or 3rd all district squad. One game short of reaching the regionals and he is not the coach of the year? Sad. Very sad.

Tharin Meggett said...

Correction. Mr.Langston Wertz.

Observer Sports said...

Tharin, I didn't name those all district teams. They were named by coaches. our All-Observer team should release next week.....Anonymous, the final Sweet 16s will release next week (likely) as well. Langston

Anonymous said...

Anonymous, the final Sweet 16s will release next week (likely) as well. Langston

Thanks Langston!