Thursday, October 10, 2013

Mecklenburg County players dominate N.C. Shrine Bowl roster

The N.C.-S.C. Shrine Bowl all-star game rosters were announced Thursday and they have a heavy Mecklenburg County flavor. Forty N.C. players were picked; 11 are from Charlotte. Seven players were picked from the Observer’s coverage-area outside of Mecklenburg County, including three players on the 40-man S.C. team.

Six of the Mecklenburg County players play in the same SoMeck 8 conference: Shaun Wilson and Jalan McClendon, West Meck; Bentley Spain, Providence; Elijah Hood, Charlotte Catholic; Robert Dinkins, Olympic; Cayson Collins, Berry

The North Carolina stars will play their South Carolina counterparts Dec. 21 at Gibbs Stadium in Spartanburg. Since the first Shrine Bowl game in 1937, more than $75 million hs been raised for the Shriners Hospitals. South Carolina leads the all-time series 43-29-4.

Mecklenburg County picks: Stephen Askew, LB, Mallard Creek; Cayson Collins, Berry; Robert Dinkins, DL, Olympic; Dominique Heath, Hopewell; Elijah Hood, RB, Charlotte Catholic; Cameron Mattison, DB, Mallard Creek; Jalan McClendon, QB, West Meck; Jacob McCreary, OL, Hough; Bentley Spain, OL, Providence; Isaac Stewart, LB, Butler; Shaun Wilson, RB, West Meck;

Area picks: Tyler Bray, South Point; MyQuon Stout, DL, Carson; Tre’Shaun Wynn, Monroe; Hasaan Klugh, QB, Central Cabarrus; Zeke Rodney, DL, Rock Hill South Pointe (S.C.); Corey Seargent, DB, Rock Hill Northwestern; Mason Rudolph, QB, Rock Hill Northwestern (S.C.).



No. Last Name First Name Pos. School
22 Askew Stephen LB Mallard Creek 
10 Berrios Braxton WR Leesville Road 
71 Best Shaun OL New Bern 
42 Bray Tyler RB South Point 
85 Burston Curtis WR Middle Creek 
66 Burton Cameron OL A.C. Reynolds
89 Cabrera Josh WR Northside 
51 Campbell Tobias Edge DL Hoke County 
36 Collins Cayson LB Berry Academy
63 Dalton Nathan OL East Henderson 
30 Dinkins Robert DL Olympic 
44 Featherston Lorenzo LB W.H. Page
52 Galliard Lamont DL Pine Forest
84 Heath Dominique WR Hopewell 
34 Hood Elijah RB Charlotte Catholic 
48 Jones Freeman P/K Bunn 
19 Klugh Hasaan QB Central Cabarrus 
33 Martin Isaac RB Cleveland 
26 Mattison Cameron DB Mallard Creek 
2 McClendon Jalen QB West Mecklenburg 
70 McConnell Nathan OL Jacksonville 
64 McCreary Jacob OL W. A. Hough 
68 McNeil Trip OL Davie County
15 Monley Trejon DB Scotland 
4 Moseley Emmanuel DB James B. Dudley 
7 Pratt Germaine DB High Point Central 
20 Purdie Cody LB New Bern 
6 Register Chris LB James B. Dudley 
78 Richardson Will OL Bunn 
50 Robinson Jabril DL North Brunswick 
3 Scott Derrell RB Havelock 
62 Spain Bentley OL Providence 
37 Stewart Isaac LB David W. Butler 
32 Stout MyQuon DL Jesse Carson
35 Street Kentavious DL J. H. Rose 
74 Sugg Jon OL Northwest Guilford 
1 Thompson Travion WR Hillside 
82 Trowell Maurice WR Southern Durham 
28 Wilson Shaun DB West Mecklenburg 
9 Wynn Tre'Shun DB Monroe 


No. Last Name First Name Pos. School
34 Blue Joe RB Dillon 
7 Bone Blake WR Woodruff 
48 Brown Solomon LB D.W. Daniel
22 Casey Daquan DL Hemingway 
63 Clark Ben OL James F. Byrnes 
60 Cooper Zack OL Dorman 
32 Crosby Kevin TE Bamberg-Earhardt 
46 Darley Cam ATH  Manning 
4 Davidson Shaq WR Gaffney 
35 Ford Damu LB Dillon 
40 Ford Keith DL Bluffton 
54 Ford Poona DL Hilton Head 
44 Joseph Kendall LB Belton Honea Path 
61 Kelleher Nolan OL Wando 
20 Kinlaw Caleb RB Goose Creek 
36 Lewis Issac DB Hillcrest 
75 Mackey Chris OL Belton Honea Path 
12 Maxwell Tyrell DB Edisto 
6 Meadors Shaedon WR James F. Byrnes 
30 Miller Christian LB Spring Valley 
26 Morgan Octavious DB Greenwood 
2 Ogelesby Jae'lon RB D.W. Daniel
9 Park Jacob QB Stratford 
3 Phillips Shykasheali DB Hartsville 
99 Pringle Naquez DL Carvers Bay 
83 Reddick Dequan DL Hartsville 
1 Renfrow Hunter ATH  Socastee 
66 Rice Messiah OL Orangeburg-Wilkinson 
85 Ritchie Kalen TE Goose Creek 
55 Rodney Zeke DL South Pointe 
10 Rudolph Mason QB Northwestern 
15 Samuel Tyshun WR Chapman 
33 Sargent Corey DB Northwestern 
42 Spence Alex K/P West Florence 
71 Stanley Donnell OL Latta 
19 Walker Zeke DB Brookland-Cayce 
28 Ward Raheem DB Marlboro County 
64 Whitley Jake OL North Augusta 
74 Wideman Dexter DL Saluda 
73 Young Malik OL Woodmont 


Anonymous said...

Jaylen Samuels Mallard Creek not on this The two per team policy is not letting them put togther the best team..

Anonymous said...

Never heard of the two per team rule before but if that's the case then it's ridiculous.

Anonymous said...

The two per team policy is a great policy allowing for better representation across the state. Just be glad your team had trouble deciding which two to send.

And for the record, my team typically has a rep or two, just not this year. No sour grapes.

Anonymous said...

This annual non-event has been a loser for years now with vague to little interest plus pulls in only a fraction for the Shrine hospital as it used too. It was dead when it left Memorial stadium over a decade ago.
Put it to sleep.