Tuesday, December 18, 2012

East Lincoln's Mike Byus named NC AP prep football coach of the year

 AP Sports Writer

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) – East Lincoln coach Mike Byus followed an unbeaten run to a state championship by being named The Associated Press high school football coach of the year for North Carolina for the 2012 season. 
Byus led the school to its first state title in football, completing the run with a win against three-time defending champion Tarboro in the Class 2-A final. 
“The right place, the right time, the right group of kids combined with the right coaching staff,” Byus said. “If you do something like this, obviously you get a break here and there. You can't do something like that without getting the breaks to bounce your way a few times.” 
Byus earned 10 of a possible 17 votes from sports writers across the state in results released Tuesday. Matthews Butler's Brian Hales was second with three votes after guiding the Bulldogs (15-0) to a third 4-AA championship in four seasons. 
Madison County's Mark Gosnell was third with two votes – the only other coach to receive more than one vote – after guiding the program to a school-record 13 victories. 
Byus, 51, is in his eighth season at East Lincoln (16-0), which averaged nearly 41 points per game and won games by an average margin of 24 points. The team continued to thrive all season, even after losing senior quarterback Garrett Young for two games due to a knee injury. 
East Lincoln trailed only three times all season, the last coming in the 2-A final before scoring the go-ahead touchdown midway through the fourth quarter. 
East Lincoln led Tarboro 17-6 at half of the state final before giving up 14 straight points in the third quarter and falling behind. But the Mustangs responded with a 10-play, 80-yard drive that ended with Young's 13-yard touchdown pass to Tyler Brock with 7:55 left and ultimately gave East Lincoln the championship. 
Byus credited his players, saying they always put in the work to prepare for any opponent. 
“I talked to them all year about reaching their ceiling,” Byus said. “I said, `Guys, I don't know how good we can be, but I want you to be as good as you can be.’ … So after the (final) game, my quarterback came up to me and said, `Hey coach, did we reach our ceiling?' I said, `I think we pretty much did about all we could do.“’ AP-WF-12-18-12 2115GMT

The voting breakdown for the 2012 Associated Press prep football coach of the year for North Carolina, as cast by 17 sports writers around the state. 
Mike Byus, East Lincoln (10) 
Brian Hales, Matthews Butler (3) 
Mark Gosnell, Madison County (2) 
Jeff Craddock, Tarboro (1) 
Carson Gowan, McDowell County (1)

Winners of The Associated Press prep football coach of the year award for North Carolina: 
2012–Mike Byus, East Lincoln 
2011–Jim Bob Bryant, Havelock 
2010–Scott Young, West Rowan 
2009–Joey Price, Wallace-Rose Hill 
2008–Scott Young, West Rowan 
2007–Ken Avent Jr., Warsaw Kenan 
2006–Chris Norman, Shelby 
2005–Danny Wilkins, Asheville 
2004–Greg Thomas, Greenville Rose 
2003–Roy Kirby, Shelby Crest 
2002–DeWayne Kellum, Chocowinity Southside 
2001–Bob Lewis, Clinton 
2000–(tie) Rick Brown, Durham Jordan; Tom Knotts, Charlotte Independence 
1999–Harold Robinson, Williamston 
1998–Daryl Barnes, Richmond County 
1997–Daryl Barnes, Richmond County 
1996–David Elder, Hickory 
1995–Allen Brown, Thomasville 
1994–Anthony Price, Durham 
1993–Ken Browning, Northern Durham 
1992–Ken Browning, Northern Durham 
1991–(tie) David Gutshall, Burlington Cummings; Walter Barnhill, Hoke County 
1990–Ray Davis, Southern Nash 
1989–Bobby Poss, Hope Mills South View 
1988–Jim Taylor, Shelby 
1987–(tie) Clyde Parrish, Red Springs; Jim Biggerstaff, Belmont South Point 
1986–Mickey Bridgers, Northern Nash 
1985–Denny Hicks, Kings Mountain 
1984–Marion Kirby, Greensboro Page 
1983–Glenn Sasser, Charlotte Myers Park 


C.Bax said...

Can't believe a coach from Meck. Co. has only won the COY twice since '83. I guess they just have to keep settling for State Championships instead...

Anonymous said...

Anybody see Byus call that awful game as NC Shrine Bowl OC? What a joke

Anonymous said...

FYI. Byus was not the O.C. in the Shrine Bowl, that was Adrian Snow of West Forsyth. Byus was the Quarterback's coach. Nice Intel Mr. Joke!

Titanfan said...

Coach Byus did not call the game at the Shrine bowl. He was not the OC. I sense a hater.

Anonymous said...

Sounds like Adrian Snow of West Forsyth is the joke as that was hard to watch