Saturday, November 5, 2011

West Charlotte's Mark Blackmon makes history, win N.C. 4A cross-country title

Saturday, in Kernersville, West Charlotte’s Mark Blackmon became the first Mecklenburg County boys runner to win the N.C. 4A cross-country championship in 11 years.

He’s only the third county champion since the meet was split into classifications in 1986.

Blackmon’s winning time of 15 minutes, 34.45 seconds was nearly 12 seconds better than Panther Creek’s Jacob Sears, who finished second.

Blackmon won three S.C. 4A state cross-country championships beginning in eighth grade. As a sophomore two years ago at Fort Mill (S.C.) High, Blackmon also won the prestigious Wendy’s Invitational at McAlpine Park.

In 2009, Blackmon was named the Observer boys cross-country runner of the year, becoming the first S.C. runner to win the boys award. His sister, Angelina, won the All-Observer award as a runner at Rock Hill Northwestern in 2003.

Blackmon transferred to Raleigh Word of God to start his junior year, but moved to Charlotte from Raleigh and ended up a reserve on the West Charlotte 2011 state basketball championship team last March.

Earlier in this cross-country season, he became only the third Lion in school history to win a league title. Blackmon followed that I-Meck conference title with a 4A Western regional championship.

-- Cary Green Hope won its third straight girls 4A cross-country title. Ardrey Kell was second. Raleigh Millbrook’s Sammy George (17:31.63) won the girls championship, nearly 17 seconds ahead of Darby Millbrook of Watauga.

-- In 1A, Lake Norman Charter won the girls title and Mount Airy’s Kirsten Parries was individual champ (19:33.99)
Stephen Mulherin of Durham's North Carolina School of Science and Math took the 1A boys title and led his team to the championship ahead of Lake Norman Charter.

-- Carrboro’s girls won the 2A team title. North Lincoln was second and Cuthbertson was fourth. Individually, Carrboro’s Grace Morken won her second championship in 19:18.57, more than three seconds ahead of Lincolnton’s Grace Turner.
North Lincoln won the boys 2A championship, 18 points ahead of Carrboro. Cuthbertson was fourth.
Individually, Cedar Ridge’s A.J. Tucker ran a time of 16:24.44 to win. North Lincoln’s Chris Boyle was third.

-- In 3A, Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons captured the girls adn boys championships.
Gibbons’ Steven Phillips of Gibbons was the individual champion with a time of 15:53,75, less than two seconds ahead of Weddington's Jonathan Bivens.

PAST Mecklenburg County boys' cross country champions.

2000 Stephen Haas North Mecklenburg
1992 Robert Easter Charlotte Garinger
1980 Ken Dowdle Charlotte Myers Park
1970 Woody Moss Charlotte Olympic
1968 Steve Grathwohl Charlotte Independence
1965 John Puckett North Mecklenburg
1960 Rocky Soderburg Charlotte Garinger
1959 Tom Stockton Charlotte Myers Park
1958 Tom Stockton Charlotte Myers Park
1957 David Gilmour Charlotte Myers Park
1956 David Gilmour Charlotte Myers Park
-- Brett Honeycutt


Mackey said...

Lion Pride....Nationwide!!!

Anonymous said...

Great job by a great kid! Way to go Mark, Coach King and West Charlotte!

Uno said...

Twentieth year reign of the emperor six Haruno Hasui, Prince shiru killed in fire school, the court decided to marry the princess for Prince Sakura Haruno Uchiha clan in
deals edinburgh hotels
lean cuisine

Uno said...

Orochimaru hand strokes on the silver sword is stained red fluid temper. Gray color on his pale skin during the night. Silver snake chain wrap on for long tongues to smile while at the same time
Florist Melbourne CBD
Audiolibros Gratis

blogcar said...

Phim Let , Phim hay , phim 18+ , phim hd , chautinhtri , thanhlong , han quoc , phim hành động , phim kinh dị , phim vip , phim hay nhất , phim let , let phim , phim bộ , phim tvb , phim mỹ