Thursday, April 15, 2010

East Meck's Monet Tellier named N.C. player of the year

East Mecklenburg’s Monet Tellier, a top 60 national recruit, is the N.C. Basketball Coaches Association girls state player of the year.

Tellier, who has signed with Virginia Tech, averaged 17.9 points, 10.9 rebounds, 4.4 steals and 3.2 assists this season for the Eagles (28-3), who reached the N.C. 4A Western Regional championship game.

Tellier was also named Southwestern 4A and N.C. District 9 player of the year and was an N.C. Associated Press all-stae pick. In her four-year career, Tellier led the Eagles to a 95-21 record, two conference championships, two sectional championships and two N.C. 4A Western regional appearances.

Gastonia Forestview’s Shannon Smith made the girls first team. Butler’s Cierra Burdick and Clair Watkins made second team and Concord Robinson’s Kelsee Cheek made third team.

Morrisville Green Hope’s Mike Robinson is the girls coach of the year.

 Fayetteville Sanford’s Bill Boyette was the boys coach of the year and Greensboro Dudley’s P.J. Hairston, a junior committed to North Carolina, was the boys player of the year. East Meck’s Jeremy Ingram and Cherryville’s Terry Whisnant made first team. Vance’s Marquis Rankin, who recently committed to Wake Forest, and China Grove Carson’s Darius Moose made third team.

N.C. Coaches Association All-State Teams

Girls First team: Monet Tellier, East Meck; Danielle Butts, South Central; Kristen Gaffney, Morrisville Green Hope; Quinyotta Pettaway, Perquimans; Shannon Smith, Gastonia Forestview
Girls Second Team: Cierra Burdick, Butler; Alysia Hudson, Richlands; Lakin Norris, Mitchell; Millesa Calicutt, Mt Tabor; Clair Watkins, Butler
Girls Third Team: Kelsee Cheek, Concord Robinson; Megan Buckland, Bishop McGuinness; Shonesse Jones, Brevard; Kelsey Long, East Surry; Alisha Mosley, Union Pines
Boys First Team: P.J. Hairston, Greensboro Dudley; Jeremy Ingram, East Meck; Tashawn Mabry, Rocky Mount; Terry Whisnant, Cherryville; Jammal Williams, SW Onslow
Boys Second Team: Corey Hensley, Enka; James Milliken, Jordan-Matthews; Tyrell Tate, Ral. Millbrook; T.J. Warren, Durham Riverside; Chris Wilson, Fay. Sanford
Boys Third Team: Emanuel Chapman, Enloe; Jonathan Frye, Northern Guilford; Keon Moore, Bertie; Darius Moose, China Grove Carson; Marquis Rankin, Vance


buy generic viagra said...

The Basketball is our best sport, I think so!!! I have been studying to be a coach sine 2005, I love this sport, when I was young I used to play with the team of the college, but I had had a fractured foot and I have not play anymore 22dd