Thursday, January 21, 2010

Eastern Alamance runner wins N.C. Gatorade award

Jake Hurysz of Eastern Alamance High School is the 2009-10 Gatorade North Carolina Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year.

The award recognizes outstanding athletic excellence and high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character.

Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, Hurysz joins an elite alumni association of past state award winners in 12 sports, including Ryan Hall (1999-00 & 2000-01, Big Bear HS, Calif.), Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Kevin Garnett (1992-93, Maudlin HS, S.C.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.) and Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.).

The 5-foot-9 senior distance runner captured sixth place at the national Foot Locker Cross Country Championships this past season with a time of 15:31.9. A 2009-10 ESPN RISE Southeast Region Athlete of the Week, Hurysz placed third at the Foot Locker South Regional championships in 15:49.77. He won the Class 3A state meet in 15:49.77 this past fall, leading the Eagles to third place as a team. Hurysz finished third at the 2008 Class 3A state meet as a junior.

Hurysz has maintained a B average in the classroom. He has volunteered on behalf of his church’s youth group and as a youth basketball instructor for local elementary school students.

“Jake works harder than his competition,” said Eastern Alamance Head Coach Nathan Gardner. “He has strived to find tough competition each and every week, pushing himself to be the very best. The amazing thing about his cross country career is that he accomplished all of these things in only two seasons.”

Hurysz has verbally committed to an athletic scholarship at the University of North Carolina beginning this fall.

Hurysz joins Gatorade North Carolina Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year Taylor Gilland (2008-09, Chapel Hill) and Ryan Hill (2007-08, Hickory) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.

-- Observer Staff Reports


DG said...

EA! You Know!