Saturday, November 7, 2009

Weddington wins state cheerleading title

RALEIGH— Raleigh Millbrook captured the top honor, the Carolina Cup, in the seventh annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state invitational cheerleading championships at the Raleigh
Convention Center on Saturday.

Cheer Ltd., Inc., one of the NCHSAA’s corporate partners that assists with the invitational championship, established the Carolina Cup to recognize annually the top high school varsity cheerleading team in the state. Millbrook won the Cup for earning the highest cumulative score in the whole competition among varsity teams, regardless of the division in
which they compete, with 278.4 points en route to winning the super large varsity division.

Jamestown Ragsdale, Cardinal Gibbons, North Gaston and Raleigh Sanderson are the previous winners of the Carolina Cup.

Davie County took top honors in the large varsity co-ed class while West Iredell won the small varsity coed division.

Weddington was the winner in the large varsity division, while Raleigh Leesville Road captured top honors in the medium varsity category and North Gaston was first in the small varsity category.

In non-tumble competition, Hampstead Topsail was the champion in the small varsity and Elizabeth City Northeastern was the top team in the large varsity division.

A record number of 115 teams participated in the event.

7th annual Invitational Cheerleading Championship
Raleigh Convention Center
November 7, 2009

Final results:
Small junior varsity (5 to 15 members)
Champion— Currituck 242
Canton Pisgah 237
Piedmont 235.5

Large junior varsity (16 and up)
Champion— Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons 254
Greenville D.H. Conley 244.5
Overhills 239

Junior varsity non-tumble
Champion— Camden 257
East Duplin 245.5
Southwest Edgecombe 237
Fayetteville Pine Forest 236

Small varsity non-tumble (19 and fewer)
Champion— Hampstead Topsail 252
Camden 251.5
Ashe County 247.5
North Johnston 241.5
Heide Trask 241.5 (based on tiebreaker)

Large varsity non-tumble (20 and up)
Champion— Elizabeth City Northeastern 275
Sylva Smoky Mountain 271
North Buncombe 267
SouthWest Edgecombe 266.5

Small varsity (5 to 12 members)
Champion— North Gaston 242.5
Wilson Hunt 238
Raleigh Athens Drive 234.5
Wilmington Hoggard 232

Medium varsity (13 to 16 members)
Champion— Raleigh Leesville Road 264.8
Jamestown Ragsdale 257.5
Huntersville Hopewell 254
Fayetteville Terry Sanford 252
Charlotte Ardrey Kell 250.5
Monroe Piedmont 248.5
Charlotte Providence 245

Large varsity (17 to19 members)
Champion-- Weddington 260
Ledford 258.8
Holly Springs 255.5
Raleigh Sanderson 242.5

Super varsity (20 to 21 members)
Champion— Raleigh Broughton 271
Cardinal Gibbons 267
Waxhaw Marvin Ridge 259

Super large varsity (22-plus members)
Champion— Raleigh Millbrook 278.4
Lee County 249.8
South Caldwell 244.8

Small varsity coed (2 to 4 males)
Champion— West Iredell 242.9
Lumberton 237.9
Pamlico 223.5

Large varsity coed (more than 4 miles)
Champion-- Davie County 255
Pembroke Purnell Swett 222.5
Central Cabarrus 219.5