Monday, July 13, 2009

Wood, Poplin top baseball all-state teams

Ardrey Kell pitcher Alex Wood and South Stanly infielder Ryne Poplin, who helped their teams win state championships, were named state players of the year in their respective classifications by the N.C. Baseball Coaches Association.

Wood, who signed with Georgia, is the N.C. 4A player of the year. He was 10-2 with a 0.87 ERA, and in 72 2/3 innings, he struck out 112 and allowed 42 hits. Wood also batted .408 with three home runs and 23 RBIs.

Poplin, the state’s 1A player of the year, hit 12 home runs and batted .468 as the team’s leadoff hitter.

The all-state teams (Observer-area players in bold):

4A: Ari Seelinger (Durham Riverside); Bryan Bass (Northern Durham); Zach Bernard (Jordan); Richie Shaffer and Tyler Zupcic (Providence); Jake Harris (Raleigh Millbrook); Patrick Roy and Tanner Merritt (Greenville Rose); Jeff Ferrell (Wilmington Laney); Scott Coleman (Wilmington Hoggard); Max Gagnon and Charles Wolfe (Raleigh Sanderson); Eric Brady (Green Hope); Hunter Conley (Hopewell); Jimmy Boyd (Middle Creek); Ryan Stetson and Wood (Ardrey Kell); Tyler Tewell (Butler); Daniel Brown (Raleigh Broughton); Dalton Shuford (Central Cabarrus); Trey Deason (East Gaston); Thomas Willoughby (Pine Forest); Ronald Womack (Hoke County); Matt Batts (Mt. Tabor); Zack Joyce (North Davidson); Adam Church (Watauga); Tate Parrish (Smithfield-Selma).

3A: John Wooten and Walker Gourley (Eastern Wayne); Parks Johnson (Winston-Salem Glenn); Nick McBride and Kyle Brandenburg (Ragsdale); Tyler Joyner (Northern Nash); Rob Staas (Southern Alamance); Nick Lomascolo, Ross Whitley and Scottie Williams (Lake Norman); Hobbs Johnson, Ben Fish and Brian Goodwin (Rocky Mount); Bryan Mitchell (Rockingham); Ethan Strickland (Triton); Jeffrey Howe (Kings Mountain); Danny Vliet (Charlotte Catholic); Hunter Ridge (SW Randolph); Ethan Ogburn (SW Guilford); Mikey Herman (Unionville Piedmont); Josh Darroch (South Granville); Connor Narron and Will Edgerton (Aycock); Branson Christopher (Hickory); Josh Powell (West Brunswick).

Wooten is the 3A player of the year.

2A: Matt Roberts (Graham); Chaz Frank and Trevor Leonard (Central Davidson); Alex Brann (Greene Central); Drew Spears (East Lincoln); Tyler DeLoach (Roanoke Rapids); Michael Bass (Fairmont); Tyler Eudy (West Stanly); Mike Weatherington (North Lenoir); Daniel Hyatt (West Henderson); Joseph Hughes (McMichael); Grant Furr and Matt Barrier (Mt.Pleasant); Nathan Hyatt (Brevard); Aaron Stull (Croatan); Lee Taylor (South Lenoir); Dylan Crump (Lenoir Hibriten); Trey Drewery (West Lincoln); Tyler White (Forest City Chase); Drew Reynolds (East Rutherford); Chris Fine (Morganton Patton); J.T. Pope (Orange); Craig Erskine (McMichael); Tyler Jackson (Starmount); Ben Walgenback (Hendersonville); Brandon Warren (Hertford County).
Hughes is the 2A player of the year.

1A: Chris Huie (Dixon), Nathan Long (West Columbus); Eli Spruitt (Plymouth); Coleman Perry (Jamesville); Gibby Allen (Midway); Josh Harris (Jordan-Matthews); Josh Coker (Murphy); Christian Easter (Mt.Airy); Ben Waldenback (Hendersonville); Chase Ragland (Louisburg); Wes Hatley, Colton Burris and Poplin (South Stanly); Dan Redinger (Topsail); Rookie Davis (Dixon); Josh Zumbrook (West Wilkes); Ricky Kraniak (Camden); Bryan DaCanal and Cory Parks (Cherryville); John Hunter and Robert Jacot (Perquimans); Danny Fraga (Polk County); Cory Dick (Albemarle); Crawford Bolton (Louisburg); Demetrius McKelvie (East Columbus).

- Cliff Mehrtens