Friday, March 27, 2009

Myers Park's Turner wins District 9 player of the year

Myers Park's Odell Turner is the N.C. Coaches Association All-District 9 Boys basketball player of the year.

Turner, a 6-8 center, led the Mustangs to their first N.C. 4A Western Regional berth in 19 years. He averaged 17 points, 9.5 rebounds and 2.1 assists helping the Mustangs win the Southwestern 4A regular season championship.

Hopewell's Eric Davis is the coach of the year after leading the Titans to an unbeaten regular season and a berth in the N.C. 4A state semifinals.

The All District 9 Boys Basketball Team
(as selected by N.C. Basketball Coaches Association)
First Team:
Odell Turner, Myers Park, Sr.; Brandyn Curry, Hopewell, Sr.; Marquise Rankin, Vance, So.; Jacquise Moore, Concord, So.; Reggie Arceneaux, Olympic, So.
Second Team: A.J. Evans, Butler, Sr.; Quan Alexander, Myers Park, Sr.; Mark Clyburn, Marshville Forest Hills, Sr.; Jacoby Davis, Vance, So.; J.D. Ey, Myers Park, Sr.
Player of the year: Turner, Myers Park
Coach of the year: Eric Davis, Hopewell