Tuesday, December 9, 2008

S'western 4A announces award winners

Independence quarterback Anthony Carrothers is the Southwestern 4A offensive football player of the year, and East Mecklenburg cornerback Tray Sanders is the defensive player of the year.

Independence’s Tom Knotts is coach of the year.

Carrothers, a junior, led North Carolina in passing yards (3,831) and touchdown passes (35). He was 262-of-384 passing (68 percent), and ran 136 times for 805 yards and 22 touchdowns.

Sanders, a senior, had 62 solo tackles, 33 assists, five forced fumbles, six fumble recoveries, two interceptions, five blocked punts and two blocked kicks.

Knotts guided the Patriots (13-1) to the conference title and the third round of the N.C. 4AA playoffs.

- Cliff Mehrtens

The all-conference team:

OFFENSIVE LINE: Michael Howard (Ardrey Kell); Tyler Kell and Kendal Lamm (Butler); Devin Moore (East Mecklenburg); Ryan Thompson, Xavier Montague and Patrick Stewart (Independence ); Nathan Bernstein (Providence); Corey Burstein (South Mecklenburg ); Alex Cuthbertson (Weddington).

RUNNING BACKS: Justus Pickett (Ardrey Kell); Ronald Howard (East Meck); Tim Palmer and Spencer Shuey (South Meck).

QUARTERBACKS: Olen Little (East Meck); Chauncey Concepcion (Providence).

TIGHT ENDS: DeShaun McCutchen (Butler); Theo Jones (East Meck).

WIDE RECEIVERS: Sean Gary (Ardrey Kell); Nick Bratton (East Meck); Lawrence Martin and Kierre Brown (Independence); Banks Jenkins (Myers Park); Matt Hickson (Providence).

KICKER: Tracy Murden (Ardrey Kell).

OFFENSIVE SPECIALIST: Kyle Gregg (Independence).

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Anthony Carrothers (Independence).
DEFENSIVE LINE: Prince Shembo (Ardrey Kell); Allonte Tuppins and Eric Conner (Butler); Jay Mozee and Kyell Collins (East Meck); Brian Johnson (Myers Park); Jake Hall (Providence); Darius Kilgo (Weddington).

LINEBACKERS: Alex Royster (Ardrey Kell); Jacob Davis and Hawatha Bell (Butler); Rockford Stone (East Meck); Jayme Watson and DeShawn Lindsay (Independence); Gene Robinson (Myers Park); Michael Rudisill (Providence).

SECONDARY: Zach Stader (Ardrey Kell); Marcel Sargent and Nate Charest (Butler); Breon Thornton and Victor Hampton (Independence); Tyree Simpson, Jaterious Gill and Alex Lang (Myers Park); Damon Magazu and Brandon Braxton (Providence).

PUNTER: Matt Cornelius (Butler).

DEFENSIVE SPECIALIST: Tim Sanders (East Meck).


COACH OF THE YEAR: Tom Knotts (Independence).


buy generic viagra said...

I think some players were missing in this list because there were other talented players who deserved to win those awards but always there is dirty hand.m10m