Saturday, November 1, 2008

West Stanly's Yeakley wins N.C. cross-country title

CLEMMONS Black Mountain Charles D. Owen won its second straight state team championship in the North Carolina High School Athletic Association men¹s 2-A cross country championships at Tanglewood Park on Saturday.

Owen placed five runners among the top 17 scoring positions to tally 56 points, 32 ahead of runner-up West Stanly. Orange was third with 99 points, followed by Raleigh Cardinal Gibbons with 108 and then West Henderson well back in fifth at 207.

West Stanly senior Daniel Yeakley was the individual winner, finishing just over 17 seconds ahead of second place Ben Sterett of Swansboro.

Sarah Rapp led Cardinal Gibbons to the 2-A womenÅ’s team title for the fourth consecutive year, as she won the individual competition in a time of 19:30.36. She finished ahead of Orange runners Mackenzi Robinson and Emily Wirzba.

Gibbons had 45 team points to 68 for Orange in the 2-A women¹s standings, followed by Carrboro (102), North Henderson (146) and West Henderson (149).

In 1-A competition, East Wilkes senior Erick Blackburn crossed the finish line just over eight seconds ahead of Polk¹s John Spence Wolfe to take the individual title. However, Hayesville won the team championship, with sophomore Tyler Breedlove leading Hayesville with a third-place individual finish.

Hayesville scored 50 points to 63 for runner-up Misenheimer Gray Stone Day. Durham¹s North Carolina School of Science and Math placed third with 101 points, followed by Hendersonville (117) and Raleigh Charter (131).

Kernersville Bishop McGuinness overcame Hayesville to win the women¹s 1-A team crown in a tiebreaker that went to the sixth runner¹s finish after both had tallied 84 points. Robbinsville was just back in third with 89, while Hendersonville was fourth at 117 and Hampstead Topsail fifth at 139.

Robbinsville¹s Faith Trammell won one of the closest races of the day in 19:58.77, less than
three seconds ahead of Hendersonville¹s Kristen Trout in second place.
Zatha Loewen¹s bid for a third consecutive individual crown fell short as the Topsail runner placed seventh overall.