Saturday, November 1, 2008

North Meck's Spano, Mooresville wins state cross-country titles

CLEMMONS -- ­ Taylor Gilland of Chapel Hill and Kim Spano (right) of North Mecklenburg each won their third consecutive individual championship in the North Carolina High School Athletic Association state 4-A cross country championships at Tanglewood Park on Saturday.

Gilland, a senior, beat Northwest Guilford¹s Seth Crawford to the finish line in the 4-A men¹s race by just over six seconds to earn the victory in a time of 15:50.68. Raleigh Broughton won its second straight men¹s 4-A team title with 59 points to 94 for runner-up Chapel Hill. Northwest Guilford was third with 118 points, followed by Morrisville Green Hope (118) and Winston-Salem Mount Tabor (164).

Spano, also a senior, won her third straight title in the women¹s 4-A competition in a winning time of 18:04.02, better than 20 seconds faster Carolyn Baskir of East Chapel Hill. However, Baskir helped lead East Chapel Hill to the team title with 94 points to 115 for Green Hope. Watauga was third, followed by Charlotte Myers Park and West Johnston. Chapel Hill, which had won the last three 4-A women¹s crowns, placed seventh.

Asheville T.C. Roberson won its fifth state 3-A women¹s team title in succession, tallying 57 points to 84 for runner-up Lake Norman. Monroe Sun Valley was third at 104, followed by Asheville at 117 and Marvin Ridge with 137.

Junior Kenyatta Iyerbele of Charlotte Olympic was the individual 3-A women¹s champion, edging T.C. Roberson runners Marie Mauher and Laura Hoer who were second and third, respectively.

Mooresville captured its third consecutive men¹s team crown with 69 points, 14 points ahead of second-place Nash Central. Waxhaw Marvin Ridge was third with 109, followed by Asheville with 126 and Eastern Alamance with 133.

Asheville junior John Harwell took top individual honors among the 3-A men in a winning time of 15:57.36, just over 13 seconds ahead of runner-up Steven Bollinger of Olympic.